fbpx

The most romantic castle in Aosta Valley

Fénis, Aosta Valley

The top romantic medieval manor in Italy – Medieval life

When you name the Aosta Valley you can’t help but bring to mind the images of its beauties, including the large number of castles and privileged residences owned by the nobles of the time, in this case the last handful of centuries.
Among the most beautiful images cut out in the common memory of those who visited this magnificent valley, there is the castle of Fénis, which with the towers and the embattled wall give an iconographic souvenir indelible and precise, leading it to be one of the largest tourist attractions in the area and one of the best preserved medieval castles in Italy.

This place takes us back in time, starting from its probable initial construction, dating back to the Roman era in the form of a villa (of which unfortunately no traces have been found), until the first writing witness on a document related to year 1242, that identified it as a Gotofredo of Challand property, Viscount of Aosta. This family unit will have long owned the walls that in the following centuries will undergo several passages, fortunately somehow in sage hands, who have been interested in the care without creating significant changes to the structure of the castle. At the beginning of 1900 the castle suffered a major degradation, becoming a refuge for animals and barn, then interrupted thanks to work carried out on the dangerous walls and roofs and with the construction of a new access road.

Coming uphills from this road you will have a view of the façade and the walls, on a journey into the past you will put yourself in the shoes of the knights who travelled the same road centuries ago.
In the 1930s a museum of old Aosta’s furniture was set up, which brought to display a series of object found on the antique market, with the undoubted effect of beautifying the rooms, maintaining the appropriate style.
The central body of the castle is pentagonal in shape, with towers and an interesting interior courtyard that we find entirely decorated with frescoes dating back to 1400. The most beautiful represents St. George killing the dragon and is attributed to the workshop of Giacomo Jaquerio, a theme of ideal chivalry widespread at that time. Alongside this painting is a series of Gothic decorations, which are repeated on the double wooden balcony and on the walls of the two upper floors. Among the characters depicted, an Arab character reminiscent of the participation of the noble Challant in a crusade. On the ground floor we find service rooms and the garrison for the guard house, a kitchen with a huge oven and the dining room. On the first floor in addition to the gentlemen’s rooms, a chapel and the courthouse. The second floor was reserved for servitude and guests. In total about 60 people could be accommodate in the interiors.
You will find an interesting series of written quotations and a poem to signify the culture of those who lived in this manor, which is considered as the administrative seat of the noble family, and not as defensible as the other castles in the area. Even the walls of the building, located on a gentle hill, are clear representation of ostentatious function and rather than defending it seems they are present in the form of intimidation towards the passer-by and the people.
Latin: “Maneat domus donec formica aequot bibat et lenta testudo totum perambulet orbem”.
“Last this house, as long as the ant has drunk the sea and the slow tortoise has all bypassed the land”.
How to get there:
 From Turin with motorway A5 – Exit: Nus and at the roundabout turn left and follow the signs. Journey time about 1 hour.

Restaurant: Le Bourg Trattoria, excellent choice of Valdostan dishes with some surprises

Il più sorprendente castello medievale romantico

Quando si nomina la Valle d’Aosta non si può fare a meno di portare alla mente le immagini delle sue bellezze, tra cui il grande numero di castelli e residenze privilegiate di proprietà dei nobili dell’epoca, in questo caso si tratta di una manciata di secoli.
Tra le più belle immagini ritagliate nella memoria comune di chi ha visitato questa magnifica valle, si situa il castello di Fénis, che con le torri e la cinta muraria merlata ne danno un ricordo iconografico indelebile e ben preciso, portandolo ad essere una delle maggiori attrazioni turistiche della zona e uno dei castelli medievali meglio conservati in Italia.

Questo luogo ci riporta indietro nel tempo, a partire dalla sua probabile iniziale costituzione, risalente all’era romana sotto forma di villa (di cui però non sono state trovate tracce), sino alla prima scrittura su documento relativa al 1242 che la identificava come appartenente alla famiglia del visconte di Aosta Gotofredo di Challant. Questo nucleo famigliare sarà a lungo proprietario delle mura che nei secoli a seguire subiranno però parecchi passaggi, talvolta fortunatamente in mani previdenti che si sono interessate alla cura senza creare modifiche significative alla struttura del castello. Ad inizio 1900 il castello subì un forte degrado, diventando rifugio per gli animali e fienile, poi interrotto grazie a lavori attuati ai muri pericolanti e ai tetti e con la costruzione di una nuova strada di accesso.

Provenendo in salita da questa strada avrete visione della facciata e delle mura, in un viaggio nel passato. Negli anni ’30 venne allestito un museo di mobili valdostani d’epoca, che portò in esposizione una serie di mobili reperiti sul mercato dell’antiquariato, con l’indubbio effetto di abbellire le stanze, mantenendo un certo stile.
Il corpo centrale del castello è di forma pentagonale, con torri e un interessante cortile interno che troviamo interamente decorato con affreschi del 1400. Il più evidente rappresenta San Giorgio che uccide il drago ed è attribuito alla bottega di Giacomo Jaquerio, tema di ideale cavalleresco diffuso in quel tempo. Affiancati a questo dipinto una serie di decorazioni in stile gotico, che si ripetono sulla doppia balconata in legno e sulle pareti dei due piani superiori. Tra i personaggi raffigurati, un personaggio arabo che ricorda la partecipazione del nobile Challant a una crociata. Al pianterreno troviamo locali di servizio e la guarnigione per il corpo di guardia, una cucina con un camino enorme e la sala da pranzo. Al primo piano oltre alle stanze dei signori, una cappella e il tribunale. Il secondo piano era riservato alla servitù e agli ospiti. In totale negli interni si potevano ospitare circa 60 persone.
Troverete una interessante serie di citazioni scritte ed una poesia a significare la cultura di chi visse in questo maniero, che peraltro viene considerato come sede amministrativa della famiglia nobile, e non difendibile come gli altri castelli nella zona. Pure le mura del castello, situato su una dolce collina, sono chiara rappresentazione di funzione ostentativa e piuttosto che a difendere sembra chiaro siano presenti in forma di intimidazione verso il passante e il popolo.
Latino: “Maneat domus donec formica aequot bibat et lenta testudo totum perambulet orbem”
“Duri questa casa, finchè la formica abbia bevuto il mare e la lenta testuggine abbia tutta aggirata la terra”

Come arrivare:

 Da Torino: prendere l’autostrada A5 uscire al casello autostradale di Nus, alla rotonda svoltare a sinistra e seguire le indicazioni. Tempo di percorrenza circa 1 ora.

Ristorante: Le Bourg Trattoria, eccellente scelta di piatti valdostani con sorprese.

Archivi
Condividi su facebook
Condividi su twitter
Condividi su linkedin

Lascia un commento

Il tuo indirizzo email non sarà pubblicato. I campi obbligatori sono contrassegnati *